the rash guard of my dreams

Rash guard zip jacket in white and red.

I had a milestone birthday this summer and it made me seriously reevaluate my skin, especially on my face and neck. Now, I’m all about sun protection to avoid hyperpigmentation and flare-ups of my eczema (or what I believe may be eczema).

I’ve started wearing rash guards to the beach for the last couple of years, but they were the long sleeve crew neck rash guards. They work very well with their UPF 50+ rating. I love not having to worry about reapplying sunscreen for whatever the rash guard covers. Yet, I noticed that my exposed neck was getting lots of sun—yikes.

So, I was hoping for something that covered my neck area and I was in luck when I found this zip jacket. It covers most of my neck and the collar stays put so long as the jacket is fully zipped. It has the deepest front pockets (perfect for my iPhone, collected seashells, etc.) and the substantial weight of the UPF 50+ fabric drapes forgivingly over my torso (thanks pandemic weight gain). I purchased both the white and the red colors for this jacket. It is also available in light aqua and a dark teal. I bought a size Medium and it fits well in the shoulders but is not too fitted around my stomach (thankfully) when fully zipped.

I have worn this jacket multiple times and it wears and washes well. Although the care instructions call for hand washing, I simply place the zipped jacket, inside out, in a large lingerie mesh bag and put it in the delicate cycle (cold water) in my washing machine. I hang dry and that’s it. If there was one thing I could change, I’d add zippers to the front pockets. But the pockets are deep enough (they run from the side seam all the way to the front zipper), so I easily manage. I highly recommend this rash guard. And now it’s almost half off, so don’t delay. You can enjoy it now for at least a month or two and in the many summers to come! ☀️😎

Leave a comment