review of new goodies

Embroidered top in eyelet white (there’s also a black version of this top) & pull-on shorts in foliage green.

An overdue follow-up review of this post and I’m pleased to report that I loved the embroidered top and pull-on shorts. I ordered two sizes of each item, sizes XS and S. I kept the size Small because the XS was tight across the chest in the top and tight across my hips for the shorts. I wouldn’t say they are true to size because my postpartum size is in flux. The embroidered detail is well done and so colorful. The shorts are a joy to wear with the elastic waist but the material easily reads dressy. I highly recommend both. I also purchased the shorts in almost black.

Espadrilles leather slides in pale peach & Leopard fabric slides.

Here’s a picture of my two latest shoe acquisitions. The dramatic flair slides are on trend for this spring and summer. Comfortable and true to size for both pairs.

Eyelet dress in warm clover and white.

Another follow-up review of this post. I had originally ordered my usual size 0 in the dress, but I could not button the buttons from the waist up. I returned the dress at my local J.Crew store and I spied the green dress in a size 2. Tried it on and I love this eyelet dress so much that I bought it in white as well (also size 2).

The full lining is sewn in, which makes for great dress construction because it helps prevents wrinkling and gives a nice shape to the skirt portion. The white color is not sheer at all. It has deep side pockets. The best part is that it’s nursing friendly. An astute comment made on my Instagram said this dress style was easy to dress up or dress down. I agree wholeheartedly, as you can see it looks casual with my slip-on sneakers (while trying on dresses at J.Crew, but I’ll be sure to wear them together at home) and it reads dressy with my wedge sandals below. By the way, how great is this shade of kelly green? So fresh for spring.

Eyelet dress in warm clover & gem pearl earrings; Banana Republic Factory Store tan wedge sandals (old, similar); Ray Ban flash lens aviator sunglasses in green.

Have you found any recent new loves for spring? Please share in the comments below.

Have a terrific Tuesday!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ToryBri
    May 03, 2017 @ 09:25:44

    Great review. I Love that embroidered top and the shade of green of your dress. Cute espadrilles and slide too. You look fantastic as always.

    Here’s my newest Tory’s; https://davisbe.files.wordpress.com/2017/04/dsc09087.jpg

    Reply

  2. vavashagwell
    May 03, 2017 @ 11:17:30

    Love all the picks! Hello warm weather!!! 🙂 It’s finally getting nice out here in Oregon, at long last!

    Reply

  3. Jennifer
    May 12, 2017 @ 12:09:21

    Hi there! I notice that you have a lot of Madewell necklaces (me too). Have you ever written a post on how your store them? The reason I ask is that I’ve stored mine on hangers (but sometimes overlapping) and this has caused some of the chains to become wavy or have waves in it. I would appreciate your advice on storing these beauties! Thank you.

    Reply

    • valleyoftheshoes
      May 12, 2017 @ 18:23:58

      Hi Jennifer, thank you for checking out my blog! I haven’t written a post on jewelry storage, but that’s a great idea (although I’ve run out of room for my costume jewelry, to be honest). As for my Madewell necklaces, I store them in little plastic or cloth baggies (prevents getting tangled with other jewelry) and they are laid in my jewelry box, not hanging due to the heavier weight of the pendant or charm. The problem with this method is that it takes up so much space. I need to think of something better! Thanks again, have a great weekend!

      Reply

Leave a comment