2 outfits

image

J.Crew white linen tee (sold out, similar); Banana Republic black ruched jersey skirt; Steve Madden leopard sneakers (sold out, similar); Zara skinny scarf.

image

J.Crew Factory black & white striped tee; Caslon chinos in grey ebony; Target grey flannel sneakers; Studded leather belt (very old, here’s a perforated leather belt).

Here are two recent outfits that I wore last week. I’ve been crushing on the skinny scarf look for a few months (I even started a new Pinterest board for it, ha) and I decided to order one from Zara a few weeks ago. It’s a simple statement piece, you just loop it around, make a bow or do a makeshift tie of sorts. I remember these from the 70’s, very Shelley Hack a la those Charlie perfume commercials. This is my interpretation with a simple tee and skirt look.

I’m wearing my new black & white striped long sleeve tee for my second outfit. It’s true to size (XS), but it’s fitted in the arms and the torso. It’s 100% cotton so it will be a great layering piece or to wear on its own. I thought the fitted top would be a nice counterpoint to the loose boyfriend fit of the chino pants.

I’ve been noticing that higher rises are solidly back, more so this season than in seasons past. There was resistance (remember the 2008 outcry from Jessica Simpson’s mom jeans?), but they have been slowly creeping into our jeans, pants, etc. As a corollary, I’ve notice that shirts and tops are being fully tucked in with the higher rises (maybe it’s the end of the half-tuck era). I bring this up because I feel like the old school belts, like the wider leather variety, are back to wear with those jeans. I am thrilled by this because I’ve kept my all of my belts from decades past.

I think a major scarf and belt revolution is happening, people. Get ready!

Enjoy your Thursday! xx

Leave a comment