my top maternity tops

One type of maternity clothing item I’ve been largely avoiding is the maternity top. Instead, I’ve been acquiring non-maternity oversized sweaters and tops so I can wear them long after the pregnancy is over (blog post on that soon, but you can scroll through my blog posts since the early fall to view the various non-maternity sweaters and tops). Also, there are a lot of maternity tops out there that simply aren’t my taste. I stay away from tops with the telltale maternity ruching on the sides (I find them itchy) and those tops with the above-the-belly belts/overemphasized empire waists.

But one attribute that I really appreciate in a legit maternity top is the long tunic length. It covers all the elastic maternity panels (or under-the-belly exposure) of your jeans, leggings and pants. You can raise your arms with confidence that your belly or panels won’t show. You can’t really do this with a non-maternity top unless that top is a truly a tunic.

Here are my personal picks for maternity tops:

img_2833

Topshop maternity plaid shirt in olive.

I bought this 100% cotton button-down shirt in my usual pre-pregnancy Topshop size of US 4. It fits me perfectly. It’s very soft and I love the extra-long length. I plan on wearing this shirt post-pregnancy with leggings since it covers everything you want covered.

img_2844

Gap maternity striped long-sleeve tee in dark grey stripe and neutral stripe.

I am literally obsessed with these Gap striped tees. The material is so soft and cushy, it feels like a dream against your skin. I wear these a ton as my first layer under sweaters and blazers/jackets. I like the higher neckline too for keeping out the cold and for being a fab backdrop to your favorite necklace. I bought my usual pre-pregnancy size of XS and the fit is spot on. It’s definitely fitted though and will show off that pregnant belly, but in a very cute way. My favorite feature is the lack of side ruching and that it’s not a tent. I will be wearing these post-pregnancy, the long length is key and it doesn’t creep upwards.

I’m wearing the tee here.

img_2845

Kimi and Kai maternity zip collar sweatshirt in black (also available in grey or navy).

I purchased this sweatshirt in black (during Black Friday) in a size XS and it runs true to size. It’s longer on me than on the model in the stock photo, so I like wearing it with my fleece-lined leggings (everything is covered). You can leave the collar up all the way or fold it over. The sweatshirt has a flattering fit while being very cozy. You can also unzip the collar for a different look. Since it has no ruching, I plan on wearing this post-pregnancy.

img_2846

Liz Lange for Target maternity lace detail top in rose and wild fern.

I like this top because the shoulder area is nicely fitted and the lace detail in the front and the lattice detail in the back are very pretty and feminine in person. I have this top in a dark purple color (which has since sold out), but I think the dark green and blush pink colors are gorgeous. It’s currently on clearance for under $7, nice! This can easily be worn post-pregnancy and that is what I plan to do.

img_2842

Hope you liked my maternity top picks and reviews.

Have a great day! xx

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Renegade Showgirl

