my maternity jean picks

Good morning, how was your Christmas or Hanukkah? Hope you had a wonderful and joyous holiday with your loved ones. If you follow me on Instagram, I announced yesterday that we’re having a baby! We are beyond thrilled to welcome our little miracle in 2017.

img_2867

So, let’s talk maternity jeans. Jeans are generally the base of my wardrobe, regular and maternity-wise.

My online shopping strategy for maternity clothes in general was to pick retailers that allowed me to make easy returns at a physical store location and not to spend obscene amounts of money for clothing that would be worn for a window of time. And oh yeah, not frumpy or uncomfortable. I wanted to dress like me, as much as possible.

The fit of my regular jeans and pants were the first to be tested by my pregnancy. I tried less expensive jeans from Target and they did not work well for me. The length was too long and the overall fit was weird. I most especially did not like the fabric of the Liz Lange pair I had ordered. It was stiff and scratchy.

I decided to order a few pairs of premium jeans from denim brands that I already loved and had in my closet. I waited for them to go on sale or I could use coupons (e.g., Gap cash) as I loathe to pay full price for clothing.

As of now, there are five pairs of maternity jeans that I have purchased and worn on the regular. Please note that I purchased my usual pre-pregnancy size of 25 or size 0 for my maternity jeans. You will also notice I stuck mostly with the skinny jean style because I wanted to balance out my growing belly and the typical voluminous tops and sweaters I’ve been wearing during my pregnancy.

I also picked the side inset elastic panels instead of the full or demi-panel for my maternity jeans. I have a pair of full panel (where it totally covers your belly, up to the bottom of your bra) leggings and I really dislike the feeling of the panel fabric. It also doesn’t allow for your top or sweater to drape like it’s supposed to since it keeps sticking to the panel. I also thought I could do the half-tuck of my top into the jeans since there’s a button and fly (they’re usually missing when you have the full or demi-panels), but that hasn’t worked out successfully for me because I don’t want the side inset elastic panels to show. The only downside to the side panel is that you don’t get use of the front pockets since that’s where they place the elastic. You can’t win them all, I guess.

Here are my maternity jean picks:

img_2827

Madewell maternity skinny jeans.

I think these are my number one pair of maternity jeans. The fit and length are perfect for me and I love the drop-hem detail. The only sticking point is that the button and fly is ornamental only so you must pull them up and down like leggings. BUT, this is the same reason why I love these jeans the most. They don’t slide down while wearing them, at all. They stay put and I don’t tug them up like the rest of the jeans you see below. I hope they will fit until the end of my pregnancy and so far, so good.

I’m wearing the jeans here, here and here.

img_2828

Paige Denim maternity grey skinny jeans (more sizes here & here).

The soft denim fabric of this Paige pair is almost otherworldly. They feel like an old, favorite pair of leggings. I’m a huge fan of grey jeans so I was happy to find this maternity pair from Paige Denim. They are a little too long for my inseam but I just cuff them up. I really love the fit and feel of these skinny jeans.

I’m wearing the jeans here, here and here.

img_2829

GAP maternity legging jeans in indigo (also available in solid black and dark indigo).

These are the budget pair of the group and I recommend these Gap maternity jeans. The length and fit work very well for me and they suck everything in rather nicely. I like the high back to these jeans and fabric is substantial (more like traditional denim instead of legging/jegging material).

Since these Gap jeans were a very recent purchase, I’m wearing the jeans only here.

img_2830

DL1961 maternity cropped flare jeans.

These are my least favorite pair of maternity jeans but the only reason why is that I should have sized down with this pair. I have these in a size 25 but I bought these online from Shopbop and by the time I realized they had a loose fit, the return window had expired. Not a big deal because I do love the cropped flare (perfect for my sock boots and slipper mules) of the jean and it’s my only non-skinny pair of jeans of the bunch (it’s nice to have a relaxed fit some days). The material is extremely soft and very stretchy, they are ridiculously comfortable to wear. So, size down on this pair and be aware that the fabric is very stretchy.

I’m wearing the jeans here, here and here.

img_2831

Current/Elliott maternity black nearly skinny jeans.

My disclaimer for this black pair of Current/Elliott maternity jeans is that I don’t have this exact pair. I have a black pair of the maternity Stiletto jeans (that I love and are my second favorite pair of maternity jeans), but unfortunately they are sold out at Shopbop (where I purchased them). However, Shopbop does have a blue denim pair of maternity Stilettos available (here). Black maternity jeans are a must because they will be your dressiest pair of jeans and the elastic inset panels are the least obvious. So, you could wear a regular length top instead of the usual tunic length option.

To give you a general idea of black maternity skinny jean outfits, I’m wearing my Current/Elliott maternity Stiletto jeans here, here and here.

img_2832

Hope you found my maternity jean picks and reviews helpful.

Have a great day! xx

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ryankrg
    Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:03:01

    Congratulations!! This is such amazingly happy news!! 😍

    Reply

  2. vavashagwell
    Dec 26, 2016 @ 12:52:56

    I was so excited to read your Instagram post! You are going to have the best maternity outfits out there – I think picking good brands of jeans is an excellent idea. Take good care, and Happy New Year!

    Reply

  3. Lauren
    Dec 28, 2016 @ 10:23:38

    Congratulations! I am so excited for you! I really wish I would have known about the Madewell jeans with my 2 pregnancies. They look great and get such good reviews. I remember clearly, constantly pulling up my pants while pregnant 😉 You look fantastic by the way! How is your excersizing going? I am a fitness professional and excersized through both pregnancies with great success!

    Reply

    • valleyoftheshoes
      Dec 28, 2016 @ 12:31:42

      Thank you very much, Lauren! I sincerely appreciate it.

      I’m taking a break from exercise during my pregnancy for several reasons but I look forward to resuming my workouts postpartum. My (mostly) healthy diet and daily FitBit step goal remain a constant however.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Renegade Showgirl

