got velvet camis?

Hello, happy Saturday to you!

As promised, this is a follow-up to my earlier post about my recent J.Crew purchase of velvet camis (see it here). As you may recall, I originally bought J.Crew’s velvet camis in my usual size of 0. However, I returned them because they were too short on my longer torso. Also, the length did nothing for the ruffle hem of the cami and the cropped length of the plaid lady jacket. I didn’t want to give up on this gorgeous velvet cami however (it’s too gorgeous to pass on), so I ordered it in size Tall 2 in two colors–dark amber and brunswick blue (unfortunately, black and deep jade were sold out in Tall 2). They finally arrived this week!

image

J.Crew quilted plaid lady jacket, velvet cami in dark amber; Current/Elliott Stiletto jeans in black; Mossimo Stacy stretch booties in black.

image

(Left image) J.Crew quilted plaid lady jacket, velvet cami in dark amber; Current/Elliott Stiletto jeans in black; Mossimo Stacy stretch booties in black.

(Right image) J.Crew quilted plaid lady jacket, velvet cami in dark amber; Current/Elliott Stiletto jeans in black; Steven by Steve Madden Razzi mules in blue velvet (more colors here).

As you can see the extra two inches in the body length in the Tall 2 (left image above) was exactly what I needed to show off the ruffle hem under the cropped plaid lady jacket. You can see how short the regular 0 (right image above) was on my torso. Since it’s a camisole top, no need to worry about a tall size’s longer sleeves since there are none. I love it when a plan comes together. Lastly, I found the cami fits my chest better in the Tall 2 than the Regular 0 (no pulling across at all)–bonus!

image

J.Crew quilted plaid lady jacket, velvet cami in brunswick blue; Current/Elliott Stiletto jeans in black; Mossimo Stacy stretch booties in black.

I’m very pleased with the brunswick blue and dark amber colors, both colors play up the rich velvet texture of the fabric. The amber reminds me of butter toffee and the blue seems electric and lit from within. They also seem to complement the plaid colors in the lady jacket.

This outfit is ready to go for my next holiday party, yay!

Enjoy your weekend! xx

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. isabella
    Dec 10, 2016 @ 18:33:48

    Reply

  2. vavashagwell
    Dec 11, 2016 @ 11:58:19

    So gorgeous! And great call on the sizing – it’s perfection!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

A little bit country. A little bit rock'n'roll.

