swing dress reviews

This post is a follow-up to my earlier post regarding how I love swing dresses with over-the-knee boots and my recent online purchase of three swing dress styles. I had updated that blog post with my reviews as multiple deliveries were arriving, but I will copy and paste them here for your easy reference.

image

Turtleneck swing dress in olive; Nine West longline cardigan in grey bouclé (old, similar); Stuart Weitzman Lowland over-the-knee boots in black suede (more colors/sizes here & here); J.Crew long oval link necklace in ecru (sold out).

This turtleneck swing dress is on sale for just under $30. I’d hurry in ordering this dress, limited sizes are available. Also, if your size is currently sold out, keep checking back for restocks. I *just* ordered burgundy and grey in my desired size. Let’s hope Nordstrom doesn’t cancel my order as they did for this dress in black.

For the price, I was impressed by the thicker t-shirt knit type of material which made the dress drape well and was soft against the skin. Nordstrom’s website description of the material is incorrect (listed as “100% acrylic”), rather the actual dress tag says its 58% polyester, 38% rayon and 4% spandex. I was hesitant about the acrylic because it always pills, but no such worries now.

Now, let’s talk about sizing. I ordered both XS and S for comparison purposes. The XS was too short on my body, the length hit at an awkward place on my legs. The fit elsewhere was good, but the overall look of the dress looked like I was wearing a child’s dress. The size Small was much better. I’m very pleased with the length and the nice slouchy drape of the dress in the S size.

I also wanted to note that I like these swing dresses much more than the popular Old Navy knit swing dresses. I had ordered several a few months ago and found the Old Navy swing dress to be even more short in length and the sleeves were too tight even though the torso was overwhelming with way too much fabric. Nordstrom’s dress is much more comfortable to wear and the fabric is nicer and thicker than Old Navy’s version.

I think this turtleneck dress looks great with my over-the-knee boots (the length is spot on). I also plan on wearing it with my ankle boots and flats for a variety of looks.

image

Ruffle hem swing dress in huckleberry; Theory plaid poncho (old, similar here, here & here); Stuart Weitzman Lowland over-the-knee boots in black suede (more colors/sizes here & here).

This boho-style dress could easily be mistaken for a Free People number but this is at least half the price. It’s on sale for just under $40. I love this dusty shade of purple too.

I’m wearing a size Small in the photo above and it’s the right size and length for me. I also bought the XS for comparison purposes and the XS is too short for me.

This boho-inspired dress is a definite keeper. It’s light enough to wear all 12 months of the year and it possesses the most flattering drape ever. It’s seriously perfect with my over-the-knee boots and I love it layered underneath my plaid poncho. It makes for an easy yet stylish fall/winter outfit. The cozy factor is off the charts. All I need to add are my favorite opaque tights or fleece-lined leggings for when it’s sub-freezing outside. My layering game is strong, haha.

image

Do you agree that relaxed fit shorter-length dresses are a natural pairing with over-the-knee boots? If so, I hope you found my reviews and photos useful.

Have a lovely evening! xx

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. isabella
    Dec 07, 2016 @ 17:35:08

    ♥

    Reply

  2. vavashagwell
    Dec 08, 2016 @ 17:20:16

    Super cute! Love both dresses. 🙂 And they look fabulous with the boots.

    Reply

    • valleyoftheshoes
      Dec 08, 2016 @ 19:10:15

      Thank you very much, vavashagwell! I appreciate your kind comments.

      Did I ever tell you that I *love* with your screen name? I wanted to mention it, in case I didn’t. I always get a kick out of typing it out! 😉😉

      Reply

      • vavashagwell
        Dec 08, 2016 @ 20:13:11

        LOL! A friend of mine and I used to get a laugh over the cheesy Austin Powers movies (granted they are really lame). We decided we’d be cousins: Vava Shagwell and Cha Cha Shagwell. So I use that as my screen name. Sometimes just Vava. Looking forward to your next post, you always have some fun things to debut. Cheers!

      • valleyoftheshoes
        Dec 09, 2016 @ 08:06:50

        Love this, vavashagwell! And thank you for liking my blog! 💞

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Mid-Life Renegade

