review of new j.crew

image

J.Crew striped turtleneck in hthr camel navy, Pixie pants in navy, oval link necklace in ecru; Steven by Steve Madden Razzi mules in camel suede (more sizes here).

A follow-up review to my earlier J.Crew SHOPMORE sale post. Most of my online order arrived yesterday (I’m still waiting for my two sweaters) and I love the striped turtleneck and long link necklace. The turtleneck is true to size (I’m wearing a size XS) and you have the option to wrap the necklace around twice for a choker length necklace (or more for a chunky bracelet). I am really digging navy and camel together, I think I need to explore this color combination more often.

I am not a fan of the Pixie pants. I ordered my usual size 0 and the pants keep sliding down where I had to keep pulling up the pants. That is not ideal so they are going back to J.Crew. For reference, I folded the bottom hem of the pant legs under to shorten the length. The length was too long, which is bizarre since I measured the shorter inseam and it’s 27″ (as described online) and my true inseam is 28″. My guess is that the pants kept sliding down, which is why the length seemed longer than 27″. Oh well.

Did you purchase anything from J.Crew lately? Any recent faves?

I hope you are enjoying your weekend! xx

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vavashagwell
    Nov 21, 2016 @ 10:30:41

    I had the same problem with the Pixie Pants a couple of years ago, but I wasn’t smart enough to send them back! So, I’m constantly pulling them up – irritating! I love your sweater! I haven’t purchased much from J. Crew this fall. I guess I am not fond of some of their fiber combinations. (wool blends when i want all wool). That said though, some of their holiday shoes look really cute, but I plan to ‘shop my closet’ this season and leave it at that. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

    Reply

    • valleyoftheshoes
      Nov 21, 2016 @ 11:05:20

      Pants are not my favorite article of clothing to begin with so any associated annoyance would take a pair out of the running. The Pixies were not meant for me.

      I hear you on the fiber blends. Not calling out j.crew in particular but I have to laugh at some $200+ sweaters I’ve seen online that are mostly acrylic. Come on!

      Thank you for your lovely comment. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family vavashagwell!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Renegade Showgirl

