target’s plaid review

image

Target plaid cardigan coat in red/black; Armor Lux red striped top (old, similar here & here); Madewell skinny jeans (old, similar); Vince ‘Alanis’ oxfords (sold out, similar here & here).

image

Target plaid cardigan coat in red/black; Madewell skinny jeans (old, similar); Vince ‘Alanis’ oxfords (sold out, similar here & here).

image

Target plaid cardigan coat in red/black; Armor Lux red striped top (old, similar here & here); Madewell skinny jeans (old, similar); Vince ‘Alanis’ oxfords (sold out, similar here & here).

Happy Columbus Day to you! This is a follow-up review to my earlier post.

The plaid cardigan coat arrived on Saturday and I am thrilled with this Target find. I first posted about last week when there was a 20% online sale on clothing, accessories and shoes. Thus, I was able to snag this sweater coat for about $60 (with an additional 5% discount using my Target RedCard). I was impressed by this sweater in person, it could easily sell for twice the price at Madewell, Sanctuary or Free People.

The cardigan coat is soft and not itchy at all. The plaid is red, black and camel, so it will match or compliment many colors already in my fall and winter wardrobe. It’s true to size, I ordered a size XS. It hits perfectly for the shoulder seams and sleeve length. There are no closures (no buttons, hooks or zipper), so the fit in the torso doesn’t matter since it will be worn open. You could always belt it with your own belt or fasten it at top using a brooch or pin. The two things I wish for the sweater coat is that it would be lined for added warmth and for pockets. But these are minor wishes, I could easily do without these details and they could have potentially ruined the lines of the cardigan if not done well. I hate when pockets bunch out at the hips when they are not sewn in expertly.

At the $79.99 full price now, it’s still a great buy. However, keep a watchful eye on Target’s website for the next sale on clothing to pick this up if you prefer to wait.

I returned the navy plaid puffer vest and the red plaid puffer vest because they both ran on the snug side. My usual XS size was fine when unzipped, but I felt a little constricted when the vests were fully zipped over a sweatshirt hoodie and a thin tee. That’s not ideal for layering with your sweaters, etc. My recommendation is to order the next size up if you plan to layer the best over a sweater or a button-down shirt over a long-sleeve tee or turtleneck. The cotton material on the vest’s exterior is flannel and I really loved this. I was disappointed that the vests were not made in the USA, as it was described online. Rather, they were made in Vietnam.

Lastly, I’m keeping the houndstooth blanket scarf. It is simply a classic neutral print that will match with all the colors of your wardrobe.

Hope this helps you. Please enjoy the holiday!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ablogandablonde
    Oct 10, 2016 @ 13:19:07

    Great find!

    Reply

  2. _h2w_
    Oct 12, 2016 @ 22:09:41

    Great coat

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Renegade Showgirl

