free people reviews

image

(left pic) Free People oversized sweater in orange spice; Forever 21 leggings in black (old, similar); VANELi ‘Bebel’ harness ankle boots in dark brown charm leather.

(right pic) Free People tunic sweater in wine; Forever 21 leggings in black (old, similar); VANELi ‘Bebel’ harness ankle boots in dark brown charm leather.

image

Free People colorblock sweater dress; New Balance 410 sneakers in black/white.

I promised you a review as a follow-up to this earlier post, so here we go.

I stand by my statement that Free People has a certain knack for fall and winter clothing. They make some of my all time favorite pieces. The two oversized sweaters and the striped sweater dress are really outstanding. On their own, they are outfit makers.

Both sweaters are true to size, I’m wearing a size XS for both. I like that they are oversized but not overwhelming for my frame. They are long enough to wear with your favorite leggings. The orange spice and wine colors are rich and luxe in person. Don’t they embody fall and winter? Both are mostly cotton, so there is zero itchiness going on. I’m also hoping they won’t easily pill after many wears (this is why I avoid acrylic like the plague). There are so many other colors available online for both sweaters, if you’re interested. It was hard to narrow it down to these two colors!

How groovy is the sweater dress? The retro Seventies vibe is strong with this one, but in a really good way. It even has a circle zipper on the back of the sweater dress, it’s such an authentic detail. The sweater material is mostly linen and cotton, so it’s not itchy at all.

I found the sizing to run on the small side. I initially ordered my usual XS size and it was a snug fit on top, but I found that it was still comfortable. What made me subsequently order a size Small and a size Medium was that the length was super short in the XS. My butt was hanging out, which is never a good look. Thankfully, I tried on the Small and Medium and the Small was the clear winner for best fit and length. The Medium was slightly longer in length but the torso was way too wide for me. I’m wearing the size Small in the image above.

A quick footwear sidenote. Here’s my review of the ankle boots I’m wearing in the first photo. For my recently acquired New Balance sneakers, I’m in serious love with this casual style in black! There are black denim inserts, which makes me love these sneakers even more. They are very lightweight and have a sleek profile, which are flattering for my shorter legs. A winner, for sure.

So, I highly recommend all three Free People sweaters, they are so good that you won’t mind the cooler temps!

Have a nice Tuesday evening!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ToryBri
    Oct 05, 2016 @ 14:07:40

    Love your items from Free People. Those colorful sweaters look so cozy and comfy. They pair perfect with leggings. Like the color block dress as well. šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Mid-Life Renegade

