strappy cami & strapless bra review

image

Topshop palm print double strap v-front cami (similar here, here & here); J.Crew 4″ chino short in storm grey; GAP cross strap leather slides in true black; Maui Jim ‘Nalani’ sunglasses in tokyo tortoise.

image

Topshop palm print double strap v-front cami (similar here, here & here); J.Crew 4″ chino short in storm grey; GAP cross strap leather slides in true black; Maui Jim ‘Nalani’ sunglasses in tokyo tortoise.

image

Wacoal ‘Halo’ strapless bra in natural nude.

image

Free People lace essential strapless bra in black.

image

Topshop palm print double strap v-front cami (similar here, here & here); J.Crew 4″ chino short in storm grey; GAP cross strap leather slides in true black; Maui Jim ‘Nalani’ sunglasses in tokyo tortoise.

The dog days of summer are here and I’m keeping my cool in a strappy camisole, shorts and slide sandals. This was yesterday’s outfit after being in the car for 7+ hours. The shorts were wrinkled but the polyester camisole was a wrinkle-free champion. I purchased the Topshop camisole on clearance from Nordstrom and it has since sold out online. It’s still available online at the Topshop US website, which I’ve provided a link above. I took my normal Topshop size of US 4 (which fits like a size 0-2) and it fits me perfectly. Fortunately, Nordstrom has added more prints in these double strap camisoles (links provided above). I love the strappy detail in the back, it adds a little drama to your exit.

I also bought the two strapless bras shown above. I really needed to find smaller sized strapless bras and I am extremely pleased with both bras, although I’ve worn the Wacoal bra more often. The Wacoal comes with straps, which you can configure in many ways. I love the light feel of this bra, it’s not padded and the underwire is barely detectable in feel. The silicone on the inside of the bra ensures that it stays put, this bra does not budge with normal activity.

The Free People bra is just so pretty (love the crisscross back detail) but it offers very minimal support with only boning on the sides. I took a size XS and it fits well, although I have read online reviews to size down since it may stretch out slightly over the course of a long day.

7/20/16 Update: I returned the Free People bra since I wanted more support. Instead, I got another Wacoal ‘Halo’ strapless bra in black. As you can tell, I’m a new fan of this bra.

I’m wearing the Wacoal bra underneath my camisole in case you were wondering and it did not show or peek out. Super comfortable and so light to wear in the 90 degree heat.

Lastly, I wanted to mention my Maui Jim sunglasses. I normally don’t wear them for fun, they are my sunglasses for driving. Maui Jim’s polarized lenses are the best I’ve ever worn, I can’t drive without them now. No blinding sun glare and the lenses make for a crisp line of vision. I also like the wide arms or temples of the sunglasses, they help block out more sun than wire versions. They are a holy grail item for me.

Hope you are enjoying your July! TGIF!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gabriellecapp
    Jul 09, 2016 @ 17:07:59

    Love you blog! I ran into by accident looking up a pair of shoes I was looking to purchase. We have extremely similar styles. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  2. sallyjrobbins
    Jul 11, 2016 @ 15:13:25

    What size shorts do you get? Love the looks! Thanks!

    Reply

    • valleyoftheshoes
      Jul 11, 2016 @ 17:24:18

      Hi SallyJRobbins! I have a size 0 in the storm grey shorts, they are true to size. I also have these shorts in kelly green in a size 0. I had to return the tan colored shorts since the size 0 ran small and were too tight. Hope this helps you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

davisbe

A fine WordPress.com site

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Renegade Showgirl

