the new review

Happy Monday to you! This is a follow-up to my earlier J.Crew SUMMER/CARDSONLY promo post (read it here). It looks like J.Crew has extended the SUMMER (25% off)/CARDSONLY (30% off with your J.Crew card) promotional event until tonight at 11:59 pm. I received the goods over the weekend and here is my review after trying everything on.

image

J.Crew candy stripe popover shirt & chino sailor pants in navy; MUK LUKS ‘Valerie’ footbed sandals.

I love both the candy stripe shirt and the navy sailor chinos. However, both items run large, sizing-wise. I ordered a size 0 and size 00 for the pants, and the size 00 fits perfectly while the size 0 was huge. I’m wearing the size 00 in the picture above. I really like the masculine vibe of the chinos. It’s very vintage Katherine Hepburn. Also, there are anchors engraved on the front buttons of the pants–what a cute little detail. For me, the best feature of the pants is that lace-up detail in the back. It’s totally functional where you can tighten or loosen the fit at the waist. It’s such a subdued sexy touch–love it!

I’m wearing a size 0 in the candy stripe popover top. It’s very wide in the torso, so size 0 is too large. I went to the J.Crew store yesterday and exchanged it for a size 00, which fits so much better.

image

J.Crew candy stripe popover shirt & chino sailor pants in navy; MUK LUKS ‘Valerie’ footbed sandals.

It’s the candy stripe popover again in size 0 (I exchanged it for a size 00, which you can see in the following photo). I’m also wearing the sailor chinos but in white and in a size 00. I did not like the pants in white as much as the navy. The white wasn’t as flattering and it was a little too sheer for my liking (you can see the front pockets). I returned the white sailor chino pants. Fortunately, I have the sailor chino shorts in white (see them here), so I’m set for the summer.

image

J.Crew candy stripe popover shirt; Caslon cropped chino pants in olive tuscan (old, similar); Stuart Weitzman Alex wedge sandal in coral (old, similar).

Okay, this is the candy stripe popover shirt in size 00! It’s a perfect slouchy fit without the extra volume (I couldn’t do a successful half-tuck with the size 0, way too much fabric). It’s such a happy print, it’s smile-inducing.

image

J.Crew candy stripe dress; Stuart Weitzman Alex wedge sandal in coral (old, similar).

While at the store for my online purchase returns, I saw this dress. It runs true to size, especially at the top. I tried on the XXS, but it was tight across the chest and around the shoulders when lifting your arms. So, I bought the XS. It has pockets (yay!) and it’s an easy silhouette to wear for those hot and sticky summer days.

image

J.Crew striped t-shirt (old, similar) & striped belt; Madewell skinny fatigue pants in burnished mahogany; Steve Madden ‘Ecentric’ leopard sneakers (old, similar).

I love the new striped belt. It could be a super preppy accessory, but it doesn’t have to be. The collegiate color scheme is pretty cool, I like that it’s not pastels. It looks like I borrowed it from my husband.

By the way, I also loved the two bandanas (gingham and vintage plaid) that I ordered, but sadly they are sold out already.

image

J.Crew cotton cable crewneck sweater in navy & striped belt; Madewell skinny fatigue pants in burnished mahogany; Steve Madden ‘Ecentric’ leopard sneakers (old, similar).

I found the navy sweater in the clearance racks at the J.Crew store. It was marked 50% off the lowest ticketed price, so I snagged it for $34.99. I also ordered the soft periwinkle color through the store since the price was so good. It seems it’s sold out online, but I’d check your local J.Crew store to see if they could order the sweater for you. It runs large, I bought the XXS. As you can see from the dressing room pic, it’s cropped. I plan to wear it with my high-waisted shorts, jeans, etc.

image

I hope you found my reviews helpful.

Have you bought anything from the J.Crew sale?

Have a great week! xx

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lauren
    May 23, 2016 @ 23:39:11

    Thanks for the great reviews! The candy striped items are really fun! I’m thinking of getting the top or dress and having my girls match in the crewcuts top. I also ordered the bandanas (because of you) and need to figure out how to style them. I wear my hair up a lot (especially in the summer) and I thought they would ‘elevate’ my look 😉

    Reply

  2. valleyoftheshoes
    May 24, 2016 @ 08:34:18

    Hi and welcome, Lauren! How adorable would that be to match with your daughters in the fun candy stripe–too cute! I really love both the top and the dress, either would make for a great choice.

    That’s awesome you got both bandanas before they sold out! If you have the J.Crew June Style Guide handy, page 23 and 44 show both bandanas loosely tied around the neck and styled as a necklace type of accessory. You could tie it around your ponytail or as a headband or as a headscarf (see my March 30, 2016 blog post pic for an example). I plan on doing all of the above so check back to see what I end up doing with my growing bandana collection. I want to copy a neck scarf look I saw on a J. Crew sales associate on Sunday, very chic. I also plan on copying a Pinterest idea and wrap it around my wrist as a bracelet. You could always tie it around your handbag handle too. See, so many options!

    Thanks for your comment and have a wonderful week!

    Reply

  3. Rossy
    May 31, 2016 @ 03:29:16

    Hi! I wanted to ask about the chino sailor pants (looks great on you!!), which I was thinking of getting. I am usually about a sz 4 (27 in the toothpick jeans – they fit just a little more on the tighter side), and am wondering if u thought these pants ran very big or just a little. Because I think it looks like I have a bigger bottom than you, and just want to know if the running large could accomodate that.. sorry I can’t seem to phrase this elegantly!! Haha, i am far from a store, and returns would be costly (not in the country).

    Thank you…

    Reply

    • valleyoftheshoes
      May 31, 2016 @ 06:51:15

      Hi Rossy! Thank you for checking out my blog!

      Yes, I think the chino sailor pants run big. I am normally a size 0/25 waist in jeans and I kept the size 00 in the pants. The size 0 was definitely too large on me. The great thing about the pants is that you can get a customized fit due to the lace-up detail in the back of the pants. It’s functional so you can tighten or loosen the waist to your liking. Other fit details to keep in mind is that the legs of the pants are somewhat wide, but not too wide to make them a true wide-leg pant. To me, they look bigger than the stock photo on J.Crew’s website. I think it totally works in the navy but maybe not as well in the white color if you have shorter legs like mine (I’m a 28″ inseam). If you have long legs, I think the white would look amazing. And of course, the navy too.

      If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to ask!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

A little bit country. A little bit rock'n'roll.

