reviews of shorts + gingham, because summer

Hello Spring! It took you long enough, ha. I took advantage of J.Crew’s sale and free shipping promos last week (when it was cold, grey and rainy) to stock up on much needed shorts. I had to replace my old shorts (too large to wear). I only ordered shorts that were already reduced to a sale price and got an additional discount, which explains why they may be sold out or only limited sizes are available.

I ordered the following four pairs of shorts, all in a size 0:

image

J.Crew deco floral shorts (similar), harbor shorts in classic green, skinny stripe shorts & polka dot shorts (going clockwise).

image

J.Crew Factory cable knit cotton sweater in white (old, similar here & here); J.Crew skinny stripe shorts & deco floral shorts (similar); Vans navy leather slip-on sneakers (old, similar here & here).

I’ll start off with the keepers of the bunch. The fit is flawless for both pairs, so true to size. I also like the inseam, not too short and not too long. The skinny stripe is a subtle stripe whereas the floral is loud and proud. I’m really digging both prints and they are anchored by blue, which is one of my favorite colors. I’m extremely pleased with these shorts.

image

J.Crew Factory cable knit cotton sweater in white (old, similar here & here); J.Crew harbor shorts in classic green & polka dot shorts; Vans navy leather slip-on sneakers (old, similar here & here).

Now, the returns. I was on the fence about the green Harbor shorts because despite the longer inseam, I thought the fitted look was a fresh take. It’s true to size with a close fit throughout the shorts (waist, butt and legs). But I couldn’t get the image of Scout Master Ward from Wes Anderson’s ‘Moonrise Kingdom’ out of my head. So, back they go.

The polka dot shorts were not true to size, they ran large in the waist, butt and legs for me. Also the length was too long for my liking. Overall, I was not feeling these shorts even if the fit was perfect. A return for sure.

image

J.Crew metallic gingham popover shirt & vintage cropped jean in rinse wash (old, similar); STEVEN by Steve Madden ‘Voomme’ sandal in blue suede.

I also ordered the metallic popover shirt last week. This top sold out instantly as soon as it became available two or three months ago. I kept checking online since then with the hopes that someone returned this top in my size. And finally, a popback in a size 0–yesssss. I really love this light and airy top, the metallic threading throughout gives it an almost ethereal vibe. My favorite is the tomboy feel of the shirt when it’s buttoned at the neck. It’s more feminine when you unbutton the top button and add a statement necklace. I really love the dual nature of this top.

I wore my cropped flare jeans that I bought last year with my new blue suede block heel sandals. They really complemented the blue gingham.

I hope you found the reviews to be helpful.

Have a great Thursday! xx

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Renegade Showgirl

