the target, madewell & j.crew review

Here is a review follow-up from my recent Madewell sale blog post (discussed here) and Target shoe post (found here). The J.Crew bikini was not previously mentioned here (due to two previous unsuccessful attempts at finding a new bikini), but I finally found a winner.

image

Madewell lo-fi striped tee in camel/ivory & skinny fatigue pants in burnished mahogany; Puma match lo sneakers.

The striped tee and skinny fatigue pants are true to size (I’m wearing an XS and 25, respectively) and the fit is perfect for both. A big sigh of relief since they were final sale items. I really like the retro Brady Bunch vibe of the striped tee. The deep red color of the fatigue pants is gorgeous in person and is different from the typical olive or tan colors you see for this type of pant.

image

Madewell embroidered tassel top in almost black & skinny fatigue pants in burnished mahogany; Target Muk Luks slide sandals.

The Madewell embroidered tassel top is a great buy, the shirt is extraordinary with all the many embroidered details and even the tassels are well-done. It is true to size (I’m wearing an XS). It’s lightweight but not sheer due to the saturated black color.

The Target rose gold slide sandals are good but not great. I’m keeping them because I paid so little for them during the BOGO promo and I really need them as a replacement for flip flops (they tear the skin at my toes). The top part of the shoe is sort of cheap looking, almost like cardboard covered in shiny rose gold. But the rest of the slides is nice. I like the thick white sole and the faux suede footbed feels good under my feet. I also like the look of the sandals overall, so fashion-forward with the white and rose gold.

image

Madewell bandana in cream (sold out in cream, but indigo & coral are still available) & lightvision earrings.

I’m impressed with the bandana, it’s cotton but more delicate like a voile. The graphic design sets it apart from all the other bandanas out there. I ordered the indigo and coral colors but they are backordered.

How cute are the earrings? They are small in scale and very lightweight, which I appreciate in an earring. Can’t wait to wear these.

image

J.Crew tropical sea fan string bikini top & bikini bottom.

The third time’s the charm in finding a new bikini. I really love the tropical sea fan print, it reminds me of an aloha shirt. The sizing is what I expected from past seasons of J.Crew swimwear. It’s not the recent shrunken sized versions that I’ve been reading about online and further confirmed by my purchase & return a few weeks ago with the sea spray Italian matte bikini. I’m wearing a size Small (one size up from my usual for everything else, but my normal bathing suit size). I can’t wait to wear this bikini, I’m jonesing for hot temps.

image

Have you been shopping for spring and summer stuff? Would love to hear about what excites you for the warmer weather.

Happy Thursday! xx

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leigh
    Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:51:45

    I love your outfits, particularly because I find it difficult to find over forty styling that is, well, stylish and not middle-aged looking. I have been debating pulling the trigger on the Madewell skinny overalls, but I’m worried I won’t be able to pull them off. are you still wearing your Madewell overalls from last Fall and happy with the purchase? Lastly, what workouts are you doing, because you look great in that JCrew bikini!

    Reply

    • valleyoftheshoes
      Apr 17, 2016 @ 21:15:33

      Hello and welcome Leigh! Thank you for your kind comments. I am still wearing my overalls but I was waiting for warmer weather to break them out again (they are slightly distressed, and I didn’t want a cold exposed knee). I will put together an outfit soon, so please check back. I’m very happy with the purchase, it’s something different from jeans (although I wear jeans more often, truth be told).

      Thank you very much, I work hard at my diet and exercise. But it’s mostly my healthy diet that I owe most of the credit. I exercise with cardio (elliptical, rowing machine) and do the occasional yoga class. I plan on getting back to weights/resistance training (took a break due to a shoulder injury) but I think I will do yoga much more often. I also started barre classes, which I really enjoy.

      Reply

  2. Paul
    Jun 30, 2016 @ 08:17:39

    nice looking bikini

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Renegade Showgirl

