cropped flares + sock boots

image

This post is inspired by Alexa Chung’s love for cropped flares and sock boots. I love her take on denim anything (she also inspired my love for overalls, remember this and this?). So, when I saw her with the sock boots and cropped flares, I had to give it a try.

If you have shorter legs like me, I think it’s best to stick with a less exaggerated wide leg and flare. Although I have yet to give culottes a second try (my first attempt with a pair from Forever 21 was a fail). A higher waist also helps elongate your legs and tucking in your shirt may help do this too. So far, I have two pairs of cropped flares (hey, that rhymes). I featured both pairs previously on my blog here.

The sock boot is the answer to my cold weather dilemma of which shoe to pair with the cropped flare. Pumps and pointy toe flats are cute with these type of jeans or pants, but the tops of my feet freeze whenever I wear them in the winter. Give me coverage, I say. The thin ankle shaft of the sock boot is a nice counterpoint to the flare at the jean or pant hem.

Here’s what I recently purchased, a lovely leather boot with a two inch block heel. I’m obsessed with these boots, seriously. They are very Céline-ish with the lower block heel and slim silhouette.

image
image

Topshop ‘Mistic’ boot (also available here).

Here are the boots with my cropped flare jeans (sorry the images are dark, it was rainy and quite dreary this morning):

image

Topshop ‘Mistic’ boot (also available here); J.Crew cropped flare jeans (similar) (I also just ordered this raw hem pair).

I love this silhouette of the slight flare and the narrow ankles, it’s so fresh and a nod to the mod 60’s vibe. I also love the brown heel with the black leather, so you can easily wear any color. Topshop boots run in half sizes only, I bought a 7.5 since 8.5 wasn’t available at Nordstrom online. Thankfully they fit (I’m normally a size 8), probably due to the square-ish toe box of the boot. But, I think I could only wear stockings or tights with this pair and not thick socks, which is fine. The best part? I was pleasantly surprised they were made in Spain. I love shoes made in Spain (and Italy).

So, Christmas is almost here and I’m very excited to celebrate the joyous holiday at church mass and at home with my family. I sincerely wish a happy holiday season to you and your loved ones. Thank you very much for following my blog, this little blog brings me joy and is a welcome respite from the crazies of life.

image

Aren’t English Bulldogs the best? This isn’t our Bella, but she shares the same underbite as this beautiful bully. Merry Christmas! xx

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. yunahsf
    Dec 24, 2015 @ 18:56:49

    i didn’t know they were called sock boots – yes i agree they are a perfect accompaniment to cropped flares – with long tight skirts too (especially fishtail). i have a knee high pair in brown suede, very mod squad.
    i love bella, all dogs w/underbites (shihtzus!) & your blog!
    Merry Christmas!

    Reply

    • valleyoftheshoes
      Dec 24, 2015 @ 19:56:34

      Ooh, I love the idea of fishtail skirts with these boots Yunahsf! I think I had a skirt like this during my teens and I wore them with kitten heel granny boots, I still love that outfit and I’d totally wear it now. Your brown suede pair sound amazing!

      Thank you for the love for my blog and especially Bella, you rock. Please have a wonderful holiday season and I hope 2016 is your best year yet! xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

davisbe

A fine WordPress.com site

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Renegade Showgirl

