puffer vest outfit

image

J.Crew Factory plaid puffer vest & rolled turtleneck sweater; Two by Vince Camuto ’70’s Flare’ jeans; Joy Chen ‘Opal’ black calf booties (old, similar); Isabel Marant for H&M silver necklace (old, similar); Rebecca Minkoff grey leather cuff bracelet (old); Cartier tank watch.

I finally got myself a puffer vest, yay! I tried one out two or three years ago from J.Crew Factory (the herringbone vest) but it was big on me. Then I sort of forgot about the puffer vest and instead added other types of vests to my wardrobe. Yet every fall and winter rekindles my interest when I see a ton of cute puffer vest outfits out and about.

On Black Friday, J.Crew Factory was running a very good promotion so I ordered this plaid printed vest. I sized down to a XXS (I’m normally a XS) and I’m glad I did because the fit is perfect, even over a thicker knit sweater. Size down if you order this online, and wouldn’t you know that J.Crew Factory is doing a flash sale today only (it ends tonight) with code DONTMELT where it’s an additional 20% off and free shipping.

I’m still loving this baby blue turtleneck sweater from J.Crew Factory and it picks up a thin blue line in the print of the vest. The quality is pretty decent for the price, it has retained its shape and the pilling is minimal despite the online reviews. It’s a wool blend, so the non-wool fibers are more apt to pill. I found that purse straps and the tags inside coats and jackets are the usual culprits of causing the dreaded sweater pill. In any event, the sweater really keeps you warm and it’s now my go-to tailgate sweater (I’ve been to three so far this football season). You don’t need a scarf and you can layer a thin long sleeve tee underneath and it’s not bulky underneath a semi-fitted jacket or coat.

I am still rocking the flares and I found an old pair of ankle boots with an almond toe that looks great, length-wise, with the jeans. If you have shorter legs like me, then you will get excited about the approximate 31″ inseam (no hemming needed!) of these jeans. Personally, I wouldn’t hem a pair of flares because you’d be cutting off the flared part of the jeans. Not an issue with this pair! I bought these at Macy’s and they’re currently on sale with an additional 20% off today only with code MERRY. I’m wearing a size 0/25 waist and it’s true to size.

Do you wear vests and which are your favorite types? How about flared jeans? Stay warm and dry today! xx

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Dec 17, 2015 @ 13:44:16

    Super cute!
    I orders another vest from Madewell….

    Reply

  2. Elle
    Dec 18, 2015 @ 23:09:10

    Love the puffer vest in plaid, I have never seen one! Love the flare, too, you look chic and laid back too!
    xx, Elle
    http://www.theellediaries.com/blog

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Mid-Life Renegade

