review of banana republic purchase

image

Banana Republic camel blazer and tie-front blouse in cocoon; Current/Elliott ‘The Stiletto’ jeans (similar); Cole Haan black leather flats (old, similar).

image

Banana Republic tie-front blouse in cocoon; Current/Elliott ‘The Stiletto’ jeans (similar); Cole Haan black leather flats (old, similar).

image

Banana Republic camel blazer and tie-front blouse in cocoon; Current/Elliott ‘The Stiletto’ jeans (similar); Cole Haan black leather flats (old, similar).

image

Banana Republic camel blazer and tie-front blouse in cocoon; Current/Elliott ‘The Stiletto’ jeans (similar); Cole Haan black leather flats (old, similar).

My Banana Republic Friends & Family sale purchase finally arrived (originally posted here) and I love 2 out of the 3 items.

First, the camel double-breasted blazer is really sharp. It’s a nice weight, I could wear it outdoors now (before it hits below the 40’s). But the reviews are true, the arms on this blazer are very fitted. Yet, the body of the blazer is loose or a little boxy, but I love the menswear silhouette of this. I’m glad I ordered a size 2 instead of my usual size 0, so the arms are still comfortable. I couldn’t wear a thick oversized sweater underneath, but a blouse or a thin sweater would be fine. I’m thrilled I now have a classic must-have piece, the camel blazer/coat, in my wardrobe.

Second, the blouse is my favorite. It’s a fantastic blouse for work or those dressier occasions. Or, I plan on wearing this with jeans and my leather leggings for a dressy casual look. I ordered my usual size, a XS, and it’s true to size.  The tie comes off easily, just unbutton the single button located under the collar, on the back of the neck. I like how the tie doesn’t shift around if you keep it on the blouse since it’s fastened with the button.  The tie won’t get lost either. You could also just leave the tie hanging and not tie it into a bow for that skinny scarf look. I also think the slightly exaggerated French cuffs on the blouse make it cool, very 60’s London rocker. This blouse definitely evokes a mood, which translates into elevating your outfit instantly.

Third, I’m on the fence about the crop top. What I like about it is the fabric, the texture and sheen make it very interesting and luxe. The issue is that it’s too cropped on my longer torso. I need to try it on with my high-waisted jeans and pants to see if it’s workable. I did post a pic on my Instagram if you want to check it out. But I’d rather wait and see for the blog, since it may still be too short.

Did you shop the Friends & Family sale? What did you love? Have a great week!

Update: I returned the crop top. I didn’t want to stress about whether you could see my bare midriff, so back it went. But I kept the camel blazer and white blouse!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Nov 18, 2015 @ 07:16:09

    Looking Good

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Mid-Life Renegade

