Madewell’s Win/Win Sale

One of my favorite retailers, Madewell, is having their Win/Win sale right now until this Monday night, September 21. It’s available in stores and online with code WINWIN. It’s 20% off your purchase of $100+ or 30% off your $200+ purchase. It’s rare when Madewell does a site-wide promotion like this.

I took advantage of the event last year and I picked up a lot of my wardrobe favorites (see the haul here). But, this year’s event has more exclusions than before. Namely, their leather jackets are excluded which is very unfortunate. I bought my beloved leather moto jacket in vintage merlot last year and the 30% off savings was substantial since it was expensive. The other exclusions include: Transport Totes (which must be one of their best sellers) and Transport Weekenders, Penfield, Ulla Johnson, Rivet & Thread, Chimala and The Cambridge Satchel Company. So, essentially it’s all the pricey merchandise.

Fear not, this sale is still worth it because Madewell is still selling a lot of my personal closet staples. The items have withstood many wears, packing for multiple vacations, and basically just stuff that I constantly reach for when I need some oomph to my outfits. If you don’t have these items, I’d seriously consider getting these during this promotion. And here they are (“action shots” with my old blog post images and you’ll see some overlap since they are tried and true favorites that are in constant rotation):

image
image

Panama Hat. This hat is the Madewell MVP of my wardrobe, I pack and wear it on every trip. I also wear it a ton during the summers to keep the sun off my black hair (which absorbs the sun like asphalt does, it’s crazy hot). If you color your hair, wearing a hat is great sun protection for your hair (and scalp). It’s great that Madewell offers two sizes in this hat because I have a smallish sized head and the ubiquitous J.Crew Panama hat was way too big on my little noggin.

image
image

Vans leather slip-on sneakers. The navy may still be available but if not get the other colors. Like grey, which will match with practically everything. Or, in black. The perforated leather is great for ventilation, it doesn’t get too hot or sweaty. It’s all leather construction and the price is reasonable. They were very comfortable straight out of the box and it’s so easy to slide them on and off in a hurry.

image
image

Oversized white button-down shirt. This is a classic wardrobe staple and the fit on this shirt is flawless. I think it’s due to the shirt’s side panels which is perfect for the half-tuck. It’s foolproof with this button-down and doesn’t poof out in an unflattering manner. Rather, it lays (and stays) flat and makes you appear thinner. Or, you could always wear it untucked, which is great for leggings or ponte pants. It’s also a trusty travel item because you look polished wearing this as a top, but it does double duty as a swimsuit coverup as well.

image
image

Faux shearling vest. I lived in this vest last winter. Remember how insanely frigid it was? Plus, I had a bad case of bronchitis for well over a month, so it felt good to keep my chest warm (it helped silence some of the coughing). This vest begs to be touched, it’s so cozy and soft. It is practical too because it was an easy layering piece to wear under my winter coats and jackets. Plus, you get extra pockets to store the little essentials. What I love most about this vest is that it’s a little different from most of the vests out there.

image
image

Ensign necklace. Hands down, Madewell is my absolute favorite for costume jewelry. It has such a cool boho vibe. This necklace has two dog tags, one is shiny and the other is matte. It adds just the right finishing touch to something so simple like your favorite tee or tank.

image
image

Arrowstack necklace. My gateway Madewell jewelry piece! Another MVP here because of the design, weight and the silver & gold combo (mix your metals with confidence, it looks intentional). Therefore, it goes with nearly everything. I’m still gaga over this necklace, I always have it with me wherever I go.

image

Blazer coat. Although it has a new name and different stock photos, this year’s version looks nearly identical to the one I purchased last year. I can’t really tell if there’s a difference or not, other than the apparent addition of spandex to this year’s blazer coat. But the general length and the silhouette are the same. I can’t wait to wear this again for the upcoming fall and winter. It’s another unique wardrobe piece that lends polish to any outfit. I feel #likeaboss in this, it’s got attitude for days. I also wore it over a couple of cocktail dresses last year, it’s a great topper for your nighttime get ups.

image

Linen muscle tee (grey and other colors). Madewell makes my favorite tees, the slouch/drape of the fabric is the best. Stock up on this must-have basic.

image

Pocket v-neck tee. Another favorite tee. GAP had my favorite v-neck tees until I came across Madewell’s version. Again, great drape to the light cotton material of this tee, but what sold me on the Madewell tee versus other brands is that it washes so well and refuses to shrink (I wash on delicate, cold water and hang dry all of my nicer tee shirts).

image

So, those are my Win/Win picks. What did you think of them?

Annnnd, I may have ordered some new things. Check back in a day or two for that post. I had to order new bottoms since my old pants and jeans were too big for me. That’s a valid rationale, yes?

TGIF, xx!

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Mid-Life Renegade

