veni, vidi, vici

Sorry for the radio silence. I have just returned from a long family vacation in Italy. This was my third trip to Italy, but this time we went to Rome (my second visit) and Amalfi (my first time!). Rome is an incredible city, it is so abundantly rich with history and religious significance. It’s really beautiful and I’d love to visit again someday. It’s one of my all-time favorite cities in the world, it’s up there with Paris.

We stayed at J.K. Place Roma and I highly recommend this 5-star hotel. The location (near the Spanish Steps), accommodations and level of service were exceptional. The food was amazing, a true foodie paradise. I kept up with my FitBit (I clocked over 50 miles for the whole trip!) and I tracked My Fitness Pal daily. Yet, I overly indulged in lots of Italian food and wine. For me, it’s a given whenever in Italy.

I posted several pictures and short videos on my Instagram (valleyoftheshoes), but here’s a sample of my Rome pics:

image

The Colosseum.

image

The Altare Della Patria.

image

image

The Roman Forum.

image

image

The Pantheon, exterior and interior.

image

St. Peter’s Basilica.

image

One of the many intricate mosaic tile floors in the Vatican Museums (plus my Steve Madden Ecentric sneakers, which I wore the most during my trip).

image

Pre-dinner pic. Calvin Klein yellow eyelet dress (old, similar); Lucky Brand sandals (old, similar); Forever 21 grey scarf (old, similar); Marc by Marc Jacobs crossbody bag (old, similar).

As you can see, there is a lot to love about The Eternal City. Amalfi is up next so check back. Ciao!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. yunahsf
    May 20, 2015 @ 10:11:55

    welcome back! your pics are beautiful -really makes me want to go! I’m loving myfitnesspal (thanks to you) & impressed with the huge database of foods& calorie counts. did you find all your food in the database? do you just estimate when something isn’t in there?

    Reply

    • valleyoftheshoes
      May 20, 2015 @ 10:48:12

      Thank you Yunahsf. Italy is a definite bucket list destination, I predict you would fall in love with Italy instantly.

      That’s great you’re loving MFP! Yes, I found mostly everything in MFP’s database. If it wasn’t listed, I’d pick the closest type of food or drink. I also eyeball the quantity as well. If you do MFP long enough, you get pretty accurate on ounces, cups, etc. I used and use a food scale to weigh my food and wine (mine is from Weight Watchers), but when I’m not at home or I feel lazy, I just guesstimate. The most important thing is to track everything daily on MFP, I fell off the wagon when I take a break from MFP. Then the weight creeps back up.

      Reply

      • yunahsf
        May 21, 2015 @ 03:34:29

        ok, it’s amazing how i can fool myself into thinking i’ve eaten so much less than i did. MFP is keeping me honest – even though i’m guesstimating a lot! next step for me- get a scale, thanks!

      • valleyoftheshoes
        May 21, 2015 @ 09:13:51

        You’re welcome! Also, measuring cups and spoons are good as well, especially for oils and rice/quinoa. Made me realize how many calories are in both for such a tiny serving.

  2. ToryBri
    May 20, 2015 @ 19:41:10

    WOW! Amazing vacation pictures. You must of had a great time. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Mid-Life Renegade

