recent purchases

It is 5 degrees outside, ugh. I needed to be reminded of what it’s like to be warm outside and feeling the sun on your bare skin. So, a little retail therapy was in order. Forever 21 is kinda hitting it out of the park for spring/summer clothing this year. It was hard to stop at just the following 5 cute items.

image

Embroidered peasant dress. I bought this dress in the cream/red color last June (see me wear it here and here) and it was a quick favorite for the summer. So, I was excited Forever 21 brought it back and in navy/white. I love that it’s in navy, I’m hoping I can get away without having to wear a slip underneath (you will need one if you buy the cream/red version).

image

Embroidered denim shift dress. This joyfully reminds me of a Madewell sleeveless top that I bought on sale late last year (in this post), the light denim blue fabric with black embroidery. Now, I can’t wait to wear both. Plus, pockets!

image

Faux suede slides. Dead ringer for the $125 Joie slides out now. Now that I have Bella, I love shoes that are easy and fast to slip on and off for walks. I just got a pair of Uggs (my first pair), which are perfect for winter walks with my dog.

image

Pointed faux leather loafers. These are so cool, I can’t stand it. I see these with all of my slouchy pants and boyfriend jeans. They also come in all black, but I really dig the graphic black and white combo.

image

Woven pleated culottes. I’m dipping my toe into the culottes pool. Didn’t think I would but you see enough fashion week street pics of all these fabulous outfits with culottes, your curiosity gets the best of you. I just started a new Pinterest board called Culottes, if you need coaxing. I figured these would come in handy when you don’t want to have your skirt embarrassingly blow up on a windy day/evening. I also see these in my future for long flights, I get antsy in my plane seat and appreciate the freedom of wearing culottes.

So, there you have it. Now, all I need is a tropical vacation or some early spring weather. Have you purchased any new spring/summer item, care to share?

3/7/15 update: I love everything except for the culottes. They fit and are cute, but I’m on the fence. I’m going to see if I can style it to something I really like. The two dresses are fantastic, the denim shift with black embroidery looks like it could be a $98 dress from Madewell. I also love the 2 pairs of shoes, the mules are razor sharp and the slides are perfect. I’m also happy to report that I may now be a size small (squee!) since the armholes were a little big on me (I ordered mediums), but I’m going to keep the mediums since I can’t afford to go higher in the hemline with a smaller size dress (Forever 21 dresses are usually a little too short for me).

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elb743
    Feb 22, 2015 @ 16:41:08

    Wow, you did well with these purchases! I do think the less expensive stores do an especially good job in summer. and I agree, these pieces are excellent, defying anyone to know the cost!
    You look fabulous in that red and cream dress, so i am glad you are getting the same peasant dress in navy!
    Love the black and white, shoes, too!
    I also thing that piece looks like Madewell!
    Now…to find a quiet F21!

    xx, Elle
    http://mydailycostume.com/

    Reply

    • valleyoftheshoes
      Feb 22, 2015 @ 17:21:00

      Thanks so much, Elle! You inspired me to shop F21 again after I saw your pretty pink circle skirt on your blog. Another example of a piece that looks way more expensive! I can’t wait to get my online order of goodies! xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Mid-Life Renegade

