#broadway

Every Christmas in recent memory brings Broadway theater tickets for my sister and me (Thanks Mom & Dad!). My sister and I saw Beautiful: The Carole King Musical last night. We loved it (musicals are our favorite) and I highly recommend this production. I can see why Jessie Mueller won the 2014 Tony award for best actress in a musical. She was amazing and so talented.

image Madewell Introduction sweaterdress & Arrowstack necklace; HUE opaque tights; Modern Vintage Janet boots (similar); Rebecca Minkoff Dog Clip bracelet; Cara spike hinge cuff (similar); diamond stud earrings (similar).

My outfit to see the show. It was freezing last night, so I dressed warmly. I love how comfortable the sweaterdress is. You don’t need a scarf with the generously sized turtleneck.

image

The marquee!

image

The pre-show stage. Love the simplicity of it.

image

Chanel Orage nail polish; Cartier tank watch.

I did a quick manicure before I got dressed. I love Orage, it’s such a dramatic and chic color for winter.

image

Chloé Marcie medium hobo in acerola.

The saturated red color is so welcome in my black and grey outfit. The medium sized hobo fits a ton of stuff and I love the easy access pocket hidden underneath the front flap. I can wear it over my shoulder, even over my puffer coat. This was such a great Nordstrom Anniversary Sale purchase, no regrets on this pretty lady.

image

J.Crew Factory Isabelle calf hair leopard pump.

Obviously not part of the Broadway night out ensemble, but a very recent purchase. I had a fashion emergency and needed pumps to wear with my new J.Crew pants (it’s the last image in this post). Can you believe that I didn’t have the right style & color pumps to go with the sequin striped pants? So, I did what I always do in a pinch–copy the styling in the stock photo (if I like the look). I needed leopard pumps, stat! I love, love, love the J.Crew Collection Elsie leopard pumps but not their $358 price tag. J.Crew Factory had the cheaper dupe and for considerably less. I purchased my pair at a store this week and it was running a 40% off promotion for selected sale items (the discount isn’t available online, however). $53 later and now they’re mine. This blog should be called Valley of the Leopard Shoes due to the growing collection of leopard shoes I have. Yikes.

We’re already looking forward to the next Broadway show, If/Then, with our favorite, Idina Menzel! But we’re doing it next month instead of next year. See you soon, the Great White Way!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gigisgoneshopping
    Jan 22, 2015 @ 15:57:55

    Yay for theatre! I haven’t seen any live shows lately, except for the Nutcracker. But I just saw Birdman, which was based around a Broadway play. It was pretty good. Not one of my favorites for the award season, but it had some excellent elements.

    Can you do a irl pic post of the sequin stripe Ludlows? TIA

    Reply

    • valleyoftheshoes
      Jan 22, 2015 @ 16:43:25

      Hi Gigi! I think you’d really love this musical. I also saw Birdman, the acting was excellent but it wasn’t my favorite either. I’m excited for the Oscars though! I just saw Whiplash earlier this week, I loved it. Intense!

      Sure, no problem about posting a pic of the pants. I can do it tomorrow for you. I hope the j.crew final sale will still be going on then. If you need sizing info quick, go down 1 size from your usual. I bought a 4 when I’m really a 6. The 6 was too big in the legs and butt. It looked like I was wearing a tent. The 4 is perfect.

      Reply

  2. elb743
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 18:52:31

    I love that sweater dress, it is the perfect choice, chic and warm!
    it can be cold in the theatre, too!
    I also love that nail color, so rich and wintery.
    Gorgeous ring, too, btw. 😉

    I am dying to see that musical, you just motivated me, i will get tickets!
    xx, Elle
    http://mydailycostume.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

davisbe

A fine WordPress.com site

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Renegade Showgirl

