scenes from a madewell dressing room

I returned some Black Friday/Cyber Monday online purchases today at a couple of shopping malls. Now I remember why I do most of my shopping online, the holiday shopping crowds were out in full force. There will be a bunch of pics (some blurry, sorry!) because I had a long-ish detour at Madewell. They were doing a discount promo: 20% off a $100 or more purchase or 30% off a $200 or more purchase (online code is GOFORIT if you can’t get to the store).

This is what I wore for my online returns mission:

image

Asos cable knit sweater (old, similar here); 7 For All Mankind Gwenevere jeans (old, similar here); Banana Republic Factory Store metallic belt (old, similar here); Steve Madden Hilight wedge sneakers (old, similar here).

What stayed at the store:

image

Cable-front sweater in midnight green & Cape scarf in stripe. I really loved the dark inky green color of the sweater, but the fit was too big in my usual medium size. I needed a small but none were in the store. The cape scarf was intriguing, but I passed on it. It felt too mature for me. You could just wear it as a blanket scarf as well.

image

Silk courier shirt in true black. This shirt is $98, so I plan on buying it when it’s on sale. Love the slouchy fit and drape. The small size fit me perfectly (so possibly go down one size from your usual).

image

Silk courier shirt in lavender ice. Same silk shirt as above, but not sure if the dusty lavender color complements my skin tone.

What came home with me:

image

Introduction sweaterdress in hthr blacktop. I ordered this online in a medium, but it was way too big (the reason for my Madewell return run). The small size fit me so much better, so I bought it. By the way, the dress was $98 in the store, so it’s cheaper than the online price.

image
image
image

Faux fur zip vest. I saw this vest on the store mannequin, worn over a simple white button-down shirt. It’s faux shearling but it looks and feels like a teddy bear. I bought the small size, I want to layer it over a sweater but not too bulky so I can wear this under a winter coat or jacket. I love the double zip, the pockets and the unfussy neckline. I can’t stop touching the material, it’s so soft!

Both the sweaterdress and vest were 30% off, what a sweet deal. What do you think of the various items from Madewell? Care to share any recent discoveries?

The weekend is almost here, thankfully! xx

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gigisgoneshopping
    Dec 12, 2014 @ 01:07:10

    I like the cinnamon tumeric color cable sweater on you. Black silk looks awesome and I don’t think the cape scarf looks too matronly. It looks cozy and a little boho, if anything. When you have those things on, though, they sometimes feel like they’re adding on years.Thanks for sharing pics ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

    • valleyoftheshoes
      Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:18:58

      Hi Gigi! Thank you, I like the tumeric color for fall and winter. I’m still thinking about the scarf cape, it also comes in a solid black version. If it goes on sale, I can see myself pulling the trigger. I think the silk short sleeve shirt would look great on you, but fair warning, drop shoulders! It seemed to work for the shirt, though. Enjoy your weekend, G!

      Reply

  2. elb743
    Dec 13, 2014 @ 19:40:16

    Major SCORE! Love your purchase, finding the perfect shirt in black and lavender is a coup. Love the cabled sweater, pretty poncho, and perfect sweater dress!
    Thanks for sharing!!
    XX, Elle
    http://mydailycostume.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

davisbe

A fine WordPress.com site

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Renegade Showgirl

