cape + long gloves =

My new purchase today!

This past weekend, I wore a chunky knit cardigan sweater (over a long-sleeve tee) that had kinda sorta dolman/drop shoulder sleeves and they were cuffed. It was too damn cold to go sans a winter coat, but the sleeves on the sweater ended up bunched up in my armpits because the sleeves on the winter coat were too narrow for the sweater underneath. This annoying issue pops up whenever the shirt, sweater, cardigan, etc. has dolman/batwing/drop shoulder sleeves (they are ubiquitous now, ugh) or it’s just too bulky underneath with all the multiple layers going on. I couldn’t put my arms down when wearing my coat or really move around comfortably, ever have this problem?

So, I went on a semi-search online for an outerwear cape. I didn’t really see anything I liked until I came across this buffalo check wool number from C. Wonder. The music stopped for this one (more like a record screech), the cheerful red and black buffalo check just screamed, “Buy me!” I also liked the tie at the waist so I won’t look like I’m a huge shapeless mushroom that walked out of the house with a blanket around my shoulders. Waist definition is key for looks but also to keep the freezing gusts of wind from blowing up into the cape. I’m digging the buckle tab at the neck on this cape, it makes it sporty if capes skewed sporty. Do you like how I rationalized the many reasons for buying this? It basically boiled down to how cute is this cape for the holidays??? The cuteness meter was on overload.

image

image

image

Wool Buffalo Check Tie Cape

I naturally had to order long leather gloves to wear with this cape since little T Rex arms would be popping out of the cape, so I ordered this pair from C. Wonder. It’s lined in 100% cashmere and get this, it has conductive fingers so I can use my iPhone without having to take my gloves off.

image

Long Leather Gloves

Oh, and I did mention they’re doing a 30% off Friends and Family promo on everything (until 11/25, I believe)??

Are you wearing capes? Any good tips for this cape newbie? Stay warm, xx.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tiffany Fox
    Nov 20, 2014 @ 14:43:27

    I am so in love with this CAPE COAT!!! I just ordered it. They were out of the M so I went with L. Hope it will work. It is a timeless piece. I am so excited to get it!

    Reply

    • valleyoftheshoes
      Nov 20, 2014 @ 15:03:13

      You get me, that’s why you’re the best Tiffany! You should wear this for your Christmas card family photo this year or next year. Please let me know what you think of it once it arrives! You’re going to look adorable for the holidays, T!

      Reply

  2. bucklebuttonzip
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 11:40:24

    I would double-like this if I could. Amazing purchase.
    x Laura

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Mid-Life Renegade

