the mother lode

It’s that time of year again, Nordstrom’s Anniversary Sale! Early access commenced yesterday for card holders online and store locations. Remember this epic haul?

For the last couple of years, however, I’ve had a love/hate relationship with Nordstrom, which is why I refrained from shopping the sale last year. But I continued shopping at Nordstrom for my husband, since they’re the only department store that carries nicer brand clothing and shoes for his hard-to-find sizes (he’s 6’6″ and a size 14 for his shoes). For me, I’ve found the way to go is to shop online exclusively at this store. It’s efficient and zero sales pressure. I was free to browse every sale item I wanted in mere minutes on my iPad. The most time spent was the editing process of my virtual shopping cart. I had to cut out many pretty things, the shopping cart kept a running tab (thankfully).

So, here’s what I ordered. Let’s hope that everything gets shipped (crosses fingers for no canceled orders) and fits. I can’t post links today since Nordstrom will only let you view the anniversary sale items if you have a Nordstrom store card. Once the sale is open to non-card holders on July 18th, I will update with links. Plus, I’ll take outfit pics and provide reviews, so check back to get the skinny.

7/18/14 update: links now work below.

image

Burberry London double breasted black trench (anniversary sale version sold out online, but similar here). Nothing beats this classic.

image

Chloé ‘Heloise’ tall boots. Love this greige color. Doesn’t the calfskin leather look like butter?

image

Rag & Bone ‘Newbury’ bootie in Granite. I’ve been admiring these boots for years, I couldn’t believe they were on sale, in my size and in a color I love.

image

Pedro Garcia ‘Samara’ perforated bootie in Dune. I regret not buying an earlier iteration of this shoe 2 years ago, in dark brown. I’ve read online how comfortable and flattering they are.

image

Autumn Cashmere leopard print sweater. Leopard in 100% cashmere. Sold.

image

Rag & Bone ‘The Dre’ boyfriend jeans. Loved the easy fit of these boyfriends, but not too baggy in the butt.

image

Current/Elliott ‘The Stiletto’ skinny jeans (anniversary sale version sold out online but similar here). They have a cult following, I want to know what the fuss is all about. And, I could use a skinnier leg jean to easily tuck into tall boots.

image

Zella ‘Live In’ cross dye leggings in Black Cross Dye. Another cult following, from converted Lululemon lovers. They have piqued my curiosity.

image

Zella ‘Live In’ leggings in Navy Eclipse. Same as above. These leggings have over 1,100 online reviews, most claiming their love for these leggings.

image

House of Harlow 1960 leather station necklace. This necklace is so 2008, but I believe it has stood the test of time. It was the first statement necklace, that I can remember. But now it looks almost minimalist compared to the statement necklaces of today or a couple of years ago (bubble necklace anyone?).

image

Rebecca Minkoff ‘Dog Clip’ leather bracelet (looks like the grey sold out online but my sister loves her black cuff). Tough little leather cuff, with something other than studs (I have plenty of those). I plan on wearing this on the same wrist as my watch.

image

Longchamp ‘Le Pilage’ expandable tote (anniversary sale version sold out online but similar here). I am a little surprised at the purchase, I was never a fan of this ubiquitous bag. But I have read many reviews that praise the expandable feature of this tote, they say it’s a travel must-have. I like travel must-haves. I’m kind of digging the inky eggplant color, it’s a cool hue. I also like the longer straps. Who knows, I may love this thing and ditch my current sorry excuse of a carry-on bag.

So, that was a wall of purchases. What do you think?
Did you partake in the early access? Anything you love or want to investigate further?

Enjoy your Friday and upcoming weekend! xx

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Renegade Showgirl

