digital perm

My old hair:

My new hair (digital perm!):

image

image

I got my digital perm yesterday and I love it so far.  It was great to wake up and have hair full of body and beachy waves.  I am useless when it comes to my hair.  I can’t style it to save my life, so the low maintenance of the digital perm is my answer.  I can’t blow dry it without a diffuser, but with the warmer weather, I’m just planning to towel dry and twist it to style.  Or, I read that I can put it up in a messy bun and have smoother Rita Hayworth-type of waves.  We’ll see how that turns out, ha.

It should last about 5 months and it will grow out seamlessly since the hair by my scalp is still straight, so it will blend in well with new hair growth.

What do you think?  If you’ve had a digital perm, any tips for this newbie?  xo

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Val
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 20:17:04

    Oh my gosh, I love it! It looks great :). ….off to do some research about it now. So how much did you research this before you took the plunge? My hair is thick and wavy, but I either straighten it or curl it everyday. I would love to wake up in the morning and not worry about it.

    Reply

    • valleyoftheshoes
      Apr 16, 2013 @ 20:36:32

      Thank you, Val! I did a little research by reading about it online and I pinned a bunch of digital perm looks on my Pinterest board. But my stylist suggested I do this as a change since she knows that I never style my hair, but I like a wavy look if I was better at it. So, I waited until my hair was long enough, and I finally did it. I’m so happy I did, but I’ve yet to wash and style it myself. I can shampoo as early as tomorrow, had to let the perm set for a couple of days first. It’s already an improvement, so I’m happy. If you have any other questions, let me know!

      Reply

  2. Grace (@akaGraceChen)
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 16:35:59

    It looks fantastic. She did a great job.

    Reply

  3. sarairie3
    Apr 20, 2013 @ 09:55:17

    OMG, I love it! Your hair looks beautiful. I hope you chronicle your hair- how you maintain it, how long the curl holds, etc.
    If you don’t mind me asking, which salon did you do it at, and are you happy with it?

    Reply

    • valleyoftheshoes
      Apr 21, 2013 @ 13:00:06

      Thank you, Sarairie3! I am extremely happy with the digital perm, this is perfect for the warmer months since I can’t blow dry my hair (I can with a diffuser though). If you are in the NYC area, I highly recommend my stylist, Michelle, at Hidy Hair Studio (phone # is 212-279-9399 and the address is 34 West 32nd St., 3rd floor. Michelle is off on Sundays and Tuesdays). I got a cut, color & digital perm for $400, before tips. It took a little over 4 hours for everything. Please let me know if you get the digital perm and if you love it. Also, I will update on my hair, promise!

      Reply

      • sarairie3
        Apr 22, 2013 @ 14:26:54

        Thanks so much for all the info- I’ll let you know if I end up doing it. Can’t wait to read more about your hair updates.

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Mid-Life Renegade

