putting on my face, Series 1: Skincare

All the new skincare and makeup products in the last few years + Me being a skincare and makeup product junkie = Lots of products on my face.  LOL.  Mind you, I don’t go all out everyday (well, I do with skincare), but I always put my face on when I go out for a fun day or night out.  There’s a direct relationship between the heel height of my shoes and the chances I’ll be wearing makeup.

I’ll start from Step 1.  Currently, I use Shiseido’s Pureness line for my skincare.  I find it to really clean without making my skin raw or feel stripped from its natural moisture (there’s a lot of it too with my oily complexion).  I like how a little of the product goes a long way.  To cleanse, I use the Deep Cleansing Foam.

image
Step 1: Cleanser

Then, I use toner.  I blew through my Shiseido Pureness Balancing Softener toner because it was super gentle and I felt it primed my face perfectly for moisturizer.  It was the first Shiseido Pureness product to be depleted.

Step 2: Toner

Currently, I’m using rose water that I bought at a spa for my toner.  I bought Kerstin Florian’s Rejuvenating Rose Water after I received a facial.  I find rose water to be very soothing for the occasional dry patches of skin that I get during the winters.  It’s also great to spritz on your face when you want a little pick-me-up (refrigerate it in the summer and a spritz will cool your face down).

Step 2 or 2(A)(as a spritz): Rose Water

Now, I moisturize my eye area and the rest of my face.  I’m using Prevage Eye Advanced Anti-Aging Serum for my eye area.  It’s rich in the antioxidant, Idebenone.  I don’t know what Idebenone is but I know that antioxidants are great for your skin.  I’ve used Prevage anti-aging serums for my eyes and face off and on through the years, but I always come back to Prevage.  It’s hard to explain because the results are not dramatic and overnight-obvious, but I notice that my skin and eye area looks smooth and even.  No lines, no discolorations, no puffy face.

Step 3(A)(eye area): Eye Serum
 

Before I apply my facial moisturizer, I put on a little prescription medication, Finacea, all over my face but not my eye area.  Finacea helps with acne as well as rosacea.  My skin still breaks out with blemishes galore, argh.  I won’t post a picture because this is a prescription drug, but consult with your dermatologist if you have any interest in this product.

I use Shiseido Pureness Matifying Moisturizer on my face.  It helps counteract any potential dryness of my acne medication but keeps the facial oils at bay.  It’s very light and has almost no scent, which I appreciate.

Step 3(B)(face, not eye area): Moisturizer

I also use a lip balm.  I am a lip balm addict (hate dry, cracked lips) and I like to moisten them up or my lipstick will look horrible over cracked lip skin.  I use either Aquaphor (feels so much better than Vaseline) or Burt’s Bees.

Step 4: Aquaphor
 
Step 4: Burt’s Bees (I like the Acai Berry because it has no color tint to it)
 

A little trick to get rid of dead lip skin.  After a shower or brushing your teeth, take your moistened toothbrush and gently rub it along your lips.  It brushes it off and then liberally apply your lip balm or Aquaphor.

Okay, that’s a lot and I haven’t even gotten to the makeup part.  But I do all 4 skincare steps, twice a day, everyday.

What is your favorite skincare product?  Any skincare tips you’d like to share?
Thanks for reading!  xo

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny S
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 22:21:16

    I love using Clinique even better spot corrector… I really see my dark spots fading away! Also my origins peel pads, serum and moisturizer.. Thanks for the great tips!

    Reply

  2. MavJen
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 13:57:58

    Thank you for the Clinique spot corrector recommendation. I will have to try that out since I started getting sun or age spots on my face. Thanks for reading!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

davisbe

A fine WordPress.com site

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Renegade Showgirl

