Oscar Fever

Are you ready for the red carpet this Sunday?  I have to admit, I am not as excited this year for the nominations.  To be fair, I haven’t viewed all of the Best Picture nominations, but that’s just it.  I wasn’t dying to watch them all as I have in years past.
There are two standouts for me:  Midnight in Paris and Demian Bicher (A Better Life).  I loved, loved, loved Midnight in Paris.  I’m a huge Woody Allen fan and this gorgeous film featuring Paris as its main star will be a long-time favorite.  Remember when I mentioned the opening scene?  I watched A Better Life on DVD and I was blown away by Demian Bicher’s performance.  It was strong yet quiet.  He was perfect.
So, who are you rooting for this year at the Oscars?
Update on my Sequin Mania shopping spree: I am keeping the Parker and Cynthia Steffe dresses (shopping links posted in the earlier blog post):
I didn’t think I would love the Parker dress, but I am so happy I ordered this dress.  First, the lighter color is versatile and I can wear it year round.  The Cynthia Steffe is very pretty with the black tulle, but it has a fall and winter dress vibe to it (so a max of 2 seasons per year).  Second, the Parker dress is truly a wrap dress so the fit is adjustable and I love the front of the dress since it’s flattering.
I am returning the French Connection sequin dress and the Joie lace top.  The dress fit me, no problem, but if you don’t have a flat stomach/abs, this dress will show off any bumps or lumps.  Also, I wasn’t loving the cowl neck on it either.  I think I’m over cowl necks in general, it looks so sloppy and undone to me.  The Joie top was very pretty, but I didn’t like where the bottom hem hit on my body and the fit was very boxy.  Also, the top is pricey at around $200, it just didn’t look like it was worth $200.
I need to be on a temporary shopping fast, so I am refraining for Lent.
Any weekend plans or new purchases that you’d like to share?  Enjoy your weekend!  xo
Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Mid-Life Renegade

