Check Yo Self

I just read about Giuliana Rancic and her battle with breast cancer.  I’ve always liked her but not enough to follow her reality show with her husband, lol.  I already knew October is the National Breast Cancer Awareness Month, but I sort of glossed over all the PSA’s on TV and in the magazines.  But, I sympathized for Giuliana and Bill’s well-documented struggle to have a baby and the fact that she’s under 40 caused me to take notice.

I must get my annual mammogram, especially since I’m in that targeted age group (40 years old and up, unless your doctor medically advises otherwise).  So, I am promising myself to get a mammogram scheduled as soon as possible.  If you need help locating an American College of Radiology accredited facility (I got this info from the National Breast Cancer Awareness Month website), you can enter your desired location on ACR’s website here.

It’s not scary, I had my first mammogram done a little over a year ago.  So, I am well overdue on getting myself checked out.

I urge you to do the same, if it applies to your situation.  As they say, prevention is the best medicine and failing this, early detection is the next best thing.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andi
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 19:23:38

    I was so sorry to hear about this, I'm so glad they caught it early. Good for you for getting your annual mammogram! It's so important to be proactive about our own health.

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 19:27:41

    Very important reminder… xoxo js

    Reply

  3. MavJen
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 19:32:32

    @Andi–I agree 100%. I'm a little scared though (it hurts!), but knowing is better than not knowing. Thanks A for checking out my blog! xo@JS–I had a reminder on my laptop calender and have been hitting the "Snooze" button since May. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Mid-Life Renegade

