Mark Your Calendar!

Ciao, bella!  It’s all over the blogosphere, but in case you didn’t hear, Macy’s Impulse department is doing another designer capsule collection, Giambattista Valli, which debuts on October 26th!  This is very exciting because most of the stores I frequent don’t carry this high end designer (or any high end designer, really) and if they do, believe me, I don’t trek to that section (mega $$$$$).  The buzz is that nothing in the Macy’s collection will be above $150–sweetness.

The collection is available to view online here, but here are my favorite looks of the bunch:

The collection is very European chic.  I liked how GV did not dumb down the design for this capsule collection.  To give you an example, check out this GV dress via Neiman Marcus ($1,900) versus the Macy’s Impulse version (price unknown but should be $150 or less):

Neiman Marcus
Macy’s Impulse

I have to say, Macy’s Impulse has been putting out some great clothing lately!  Karl Lagerfeld (discussed here), Matthew Williamson, and now Giambattista Valli.  Love it.

I had a disappointing experience with Target’s Missoni fiasco where everything sold out the morning of the launch.  I went to 3 Targets that morning and there were tumbleweeds rolling by when I spied the empty clothing racks and shoe shelves.  Online shopping on Target’s website was not happening due to insane traffic.

Well, shopping at Macy’s Impulse is the opposite of that.  Especially if you head over to the Herald Square Macy’s in NYC.  I love this particular location so very much as it’s a New York institution.

Okay, now it’s time for some random stuff!

My husband and I just watched a great film that we both enjoyed, White Irish Drinkers.  Great story and plot.  It’s available on Netflix now and we streamed it, easy peasy.  Here’s the trailer:

Next are some of the shoes I’ve been lusting after from afar:

In order from top to bottom: Chanel, Charlotte Olympia, Gucci and Isabel Marant.

What do you think about the upcoming Macy’s Impulse collection (anything catch your fancy)?  How about the lust-worthy shoes and boots?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andi
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 09:21:28

    Wow, I'm liking the GV designs you posted. I think it's so great that Macy's and other retailers are offering more accessible designer fashion.

    Reply

  2. MavJen
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 13:13:32

    @Andi–I totally agree. The average cost of a GV dress at Neiman Marcus is about $3,000 or so? Wowzers!

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 19:10:59

    I love the leopard coat!!! Thank you for the great pics on the new collection at Macy's! Can't wait to see it!

    Reply

  4. MavJen
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 20:44:46

    @Anonymous–I lurve that leopard coat too! I think my husband will be upset if I get another leopard piece, lol!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Lexiland

A little bit country. A little bit rock'n'roll.

