Karl, Ralph & Jerry

My sincere apologies for the lack of recent posts.  Okay, back to business.  First, a couple of reviews and updates.

I ordered a couple of tops from the Karl Lagerfeld for Macy’s Impulse capsule collection, a white blouse and a black lace top:

While not super cheap in price (the white blouse is $99 and the black top is $79), the quality of both items were excellent.  Especially for the white blouse.  The tailoring and stitching details were remarkable and better than blouses I’ve purchased in the past for 2 or 3 times the price.  The black top was very pretty but the fit was very boxy.  Both tops were super generous in size, so I’d size down.  Sadly, I returned both tops because as a housewife, I could not forsee wearing a statement white blouse anywhere and the black top was huge on me.
The white blouse kinda reminds me of those Ralph Lauren ads, like this (although the Karl Lagerfeld blouse is not as extreme or ridiculous):

I don’t have a 150 year old monster carved fireplace to stand in front of nor velvet pants, so I’ll take a pass.  And yeah, I know what you’re thinking.  I thought the SAME thing:

But don’t let my returns discourage you.  If you need professional work clothes, definitely look into the dresses and separates.  Again, they are well made and the weight and drape of the fabrics are beautiful.

Now a shopping update about my Steve Madden online order.  The entire order was canceled the following day and no one at Steve Madden knew why.  I suspect it was the belt because it’s no longer available in my size.  No worries, I can pick up a leopard belt elsewhere (hopefully).  So, I ordered the 4 pairs of shoes/boots over the phone and this time I got a better discount with the FALL30 code (as opposed to the 10% discount for signing up on their website with your email address).  Side note: I wish they’d let you stack codes, but no such luck.

They are still in transit, but I’ll promise to give my review.  In the meantime, I found an image for the Madee taupe suede smoking flat:

I’m hoping that this nude shoe will give me the illusion of longer legs.  I could always use some of that.  Damn my 28/29 inseam!

Lastly, I keep meaning to post some outfit pics on here.  I will admit that I’m intimidated by all the beautiful bloggers out there and their gorgeous photos.  I wish I had the cool cityscape backgrounds that they have on their blogs.  I will also have to figure out the logistics of how to take good photos, I may need a tripod or have someone else photograph the outfits.  If anyone out there has suggestions, please share!

Happy Wednesday everyone!

Leave a Reply

davisbe

A fine WordPress.com site

Welcome to Lexiland

Home of the Renegade Showgirl

